designerstill.blogg.se

2009 macbook pro ram upgrade 8gb
2009 macbook pro ram upgrade 8gb










2009 macbook pro ram upgrade 8gb

Planning with a bit of headroom never is a mistake with RAM.

#2009 macbook pro ram upgrade 8gb windows#

And once you need to use VMs, getting above 16 GB really isn't all that difficult - just assign 6GB to macOS, 8GB to your Windows Dev VM with Visual Studio and 4 GB to a Linux or Windows Server VM and you're there. If somebody sees the possibility of that being too small, they will need the next step beyond that - which is 32GB. You can't go wrong getting 16GB but if you're feeling the penny pinch then 8GB is quite tolerable (for my workload).ġ) There's a big difference between "just fine today" and "I'll still be happy with this descision in 3 years".Ģ) "No less than 32 GB is sufficient" - the question is really whether one sees 16 GB as enough for the expected lifetime of the device. On the 8GB I'd tend to keep just one of the Sketch files open at a time whether I needed to do that, I couldn't really tell.

2009 macbook pro ram upgrade 8gb

I have 2-3 50-100MB Sketch files open at a time on the 16GB (+a good size Xcode project). For me, if I had to choose one, I'd rather have the extra SSD storage. I've also used Xcode & Sketch on a MacBook with 8GB and TBH that's worked just fine, too. I use 16GB on a MBP with Xcode and Sketch and it's plenty. Sketch is perhaps your biggest RAM user depending on your file sizes this could merit the 16GB option. Is it worth it for my use case? I do often keep a bunch of apps open at a given time but based on preliminary research it sounds like going from 8GB to 16GB is a marginal - if that - performance upgrade.Īccording to the reviewer experts, no less than 32GB is sufficient in a laptop nowadays. The 16GB upgrade is roughly an extra $200. External monitor connected for the most part

2009 macbook pro ram upgrade 8gb

By default I'll use a higher resolution than the default set on the laptop Chrome for web browsing (average 10-15 tabs open at a given time) First of all, i love my MBP, it use to run great, but over time, its starting to get. Graphic design done via Bohemian Coding's Sketch Hey All, Im currently using a Macbook Pro from 2009 (2.26GHz dual core, 2gb ram), and considering upgrading to the new Macbook Air 2011 model (SKU 69914 - 1.7GHz i5, 4gb ram). The idea is that whatever laptop I purchase can last me 5-6 years. I would have preferred a 15" MacBook Pro because the extra screen real estate is useful for graphic design but the prices are insane so I'm evaluating the 13" MacBook Pro with touchbar.

2009 macbook pro ram upgrade 8gb

Especially with the increase in baseline prices of all MacBook Pro's (seriously wtf?!) I'm heavily contemplating what MacBook Pro specs I need to go with. The challenge with today's Apple MacBook Pro's is that they're no longer upgradeable after purchase. It's done well but unfortunately it's no longer holding up and after 7+ years I think I'm certainly ready for an upgrade. My current setup is a 2009 13" MacBook Pro that was upgraded to a SSD, and 8GB RAM. Now with on a day to day basis, i tend to watch videos on the go with my laptop, use it for university, skyping, and also have the ability to play some games if i wanted to, etc, so i do like a system with a little power.Ĭomparing the specs between the 2009 MBP and the 2011 MBA, the CPU on the MBP seems "faster" at 2.26GHz dual core, while the MBA is 1.7GHz but runs on a i5 processor.īasically my question is, will there be an increase or decrease in overall performance? between the two machines, and do you recommend the upgrade to a MBA?, I'm talking about every day use, videos, possible gaming, video streaming, etc.So I'm looking to purchase a new MacBook Pro, been overdue for an upgrade for a while to be honest. i have loved every second using this machine, which is why I'm sticking with macbook series. i would like some suggestions.įirst of all, i love my MBP, it use to run great, but over time, its starting to get hot really fast, it sometimes lags a while watching videos/ multitasking, and most noticeable, games run very poorly (not sure if this is because of the CPU/RAM/GPU) and most important, it is quite heavy for a carrying around Uni/ Out on the go. I'm currently using a Macbook Pro from 2009 (2.26GHz dual core, 2gb ram), and considering upgrading to the new Macbook Air 2011 model (SKU 69914 - 1.7GHz i5, 4gb ram).












2009 macbook pro ram upgrade 8gb